Our Trustee Board

JMSU is governed by a Board of Trustees, who ensure that the organisation is operating properly and in the best interest of students. The Board meets at least four times a year.

We have twelve members of the Trustee Board; our four Student Officers, four Student Trustees and four Community Trustees. The Community Trustees are volunteers from high profile outside organisations who add knowledge and expertise to what we do.Trustees are also accountable to the Charity Commission and ensure we make sound financial decisions, obey the law and respond to the needs of all students.

Responsibility for day-to-day operations are delegated to the Students’ Union Chief Executive and staff team. In addition to our full Trustee Board, we have the following three subcommittees which report to the board:

Finance, Audit & Risk Committee

Governance & Policy Committee

HR, Appointments & Remuneration Committee

The Board is serviced by Paul Chapman, JMSU Chief Executive, and you can find out more about or contact the Board through its Secretary Jenny Kelly: j.e.kelly@ljmu.ac.uk

Our Trustees

Our current Trustees are:

Angelina Cliff, President (and Chair of Trustee Board)

As Chair of the Board, Angelina heads the meeting and goes through the agenda facilitating the discussions at the meetings as well as helping to decide what needs to be discussed at each meeting. She ensures that the decisions we make are in the best interests of all students, and considers how they will impact on all the different types of students here at LJMU.  

Angelina has recently graduated LJMU with a degree in Drama and Creative Writing and was elected Vice President of Academic Quality during the student officer by-election in June 2017 and was then elected as President in March 2018. She is keen to improve the educational experience at university and is very passionate about enhancing equality, diversity and inclusion. She would love to hear ideas and get feedback from students about their time at LJMU, or just meet for a cup of tea and a chat. In her spare time, Angelina loves to act in short films and plays, as well as writing poetry and prose, travelling, cooking food for her friends and binge watching Netflix.

Mark Hodgson, Programme Manager at Smaller Earth Group, Community Trustee

Mark is the Vice-Chair of the JMSU Trustee Board. He is Director of Growth and Development at Smaller Earth UK. The company sends great young people around the world to experience life from a different perspective. He is responsible for paving the road ahead for the organisation.

Prior to this role, he worked in sales, customer service and marketing for Smaller Earth. He also ran an 18 month European Union program that helped young people based in Merseyside to start their own business.

He was a trustee for Awesome Liverpool and was also governor at Kirkdale St Lawrence primary school.

He spent 7 summers in the US, a couple of years in Australia, and also spent time in Kenya, Fiji, Hawaii and across Europe which led to him writing a book about his experiences.

Jean McLean, Community Trustee

Jean’s background is campaigning and communication, she has spent years in youth sector encouraging people to create the change that they want to see in the world.

In her past role she has developed people powered campaigns to create change for children in the UK and other countries and implements the infrastructure to deliver on these objectives. Despite being a political geek she makes time to watch Liverpool Football Club and go for the odd run. She is interested in how we can best represent and empower students at Liverpool Students’ Union.  

Fiona Brereton, Vice President Activities

Fiona is an LJMU graduate who studied Sports Science and was elected as the Vice President of Activities in March 2018.

Howisha Charlery, VP Community Engagement

Howisha is a graduate in Sport and Excercise Science and was elected as the VP Community Engagement back in March 2017 and was then re-elected in March 2018. During her time at uni she was a student staff member for the Students' Union as well as working part-time in retail and customer service.

She was also a member of LJMU Women's Rugby Union. She absolutely loves working with and for students and is buzzed and ready for her role as a Student Officer.

Julia Daer, Vice President Academic Quality

Julia has recently graduated LJMU with a degree in Marketing and was elected Vice President of Academic Quality during the elections in June 2018.


Board papers

Papers for the next Trustee Board meeting are posted here in advance of the meeting. You can also view papers from past meetings.

Become a Trustee

Student Trustees

Our 4 student trustee positions are currently vacant, and so we are in the process of recruiting these roles ahead of the 2018/19 academic year. More details about the roles and how to apply can be found here. If you have any questions, please email j.e.kelly@ljmu.ac.uk

If you are interested in finding out more about governance and the role of trustees then there is lots of information on the following websites:

Charity Commission

Know How Non-Profit


Community Trustees

If you’re interested in becoming one of our Community Trustees, please email j.e.kelly@ljmu.ac.uk.